RICK/A Sea Kayaking Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

Truth is what stands the test of experience. - Albert Einstein

Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Thermal Layers  (Read 4262 times)

Tim

Thermal Layers
« on: October 25, 2008, 06:47:11 AM »

Any thoughts on dry suit underlayers? A friend of mine, Art at The Kayak Center, gave me a tip on Carol Davis Sportswear for one piece, long, underwear.  They look good.  Any experience out there with Smart Wool? 

Cat

SmartWool Rules!
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2008, 06:54:48 AM »

The winter of 99-00, I worked as a lift operator on Mt. Hood, Oregon, otherwise known as The Slush Factory of the Modern World.  We routinely got soaked and had to stand for hours on/in wet snow.  We would pour water out of our boots at the end of our shifts.

I tried all sorts of socks, but the only ones that kept my feet warm were SmartWool.  And they last and last and last - I still use the same socks I bought nine years ago.

Carole

Re: Thermal Layers
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2008, 08:08:30 AM »

Ditto to Cat's message - although I've never tested wool as drastically as she has! I was finding that I would sweat more in an underlayer of synthetic, but with my wool (Ice Breaker, although I suppose any brand will do), I find that I'm very comfortable and warm. On really cold days, I wear a medium layer top and bottom over a thin layer top and bottom under my dry suit (and of course wool socks). I have a heavier top I can wear if needed but usually I just bring it along in a dry bag. I'm not familiar with Carol Davis but long underwear has its charms - mostly being draft free and non-bunching around the waist. The only drawback I see is that it might be less versatile, like if you just want to change either the top or the bottom layer while on the trip.

gerry p

« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2008, 09:31:39 AM »